Texas National Guard Enlists First Female Chaplain

McAllen, TX –Sometimes it’s about believing in a dream and having a strong faith that makes that dream come true which was the case for the Texas Army National Guard’s first female chaplain, Chaplain Mary Frances Galeana, who signed her chaplain commitment papers in November 2009.  

Chaplain Galeana had always wanted to go to Seminary School but didn’t know how she was going to pay for it.  “I had wanted to go to Seminary for a long time. I was a librarian at the time when I met a recruiter who told me that the National Guard would pay for the full tuition,” Galeana said. “After discussing it with my husband and four kids and praying about it, I made up my mind and before you know it, it was a done deal.” 

Because of her earlier education, she was able to finish the program in a shorter amount of time. “I attended Wayland Baptist University near San Antonio and was able to finish in only two and a half years concentrating solely on theology and religion,” Galeana said.  

“It was an amazing experience but it wasn’t easy. The course work was difficult. It was the hardest thing that I have ever done even with my masters in both instructional technology and library science,” she said. 

One of the benefits of being in the Texas National Guard is that you can live and work in your home town. In Chaplain Galeana’s case that was McAllen. “I was able to return home to McAllen after seminary where I began teaching 7th grade science along with coaching track and volleyball at DeLeon Middle School.”  

Then every drill weekend, she changes her teaching hat for her beret and her duties as a Chaplain.  “As a chaplain, my duties vary. I am still surprised that God is able to use me. It’s a challenge but very rewarding,” Galeana said.  

Whether it’s giving services or counseling or just visiting with Soldiers, Chaplain Galeana feels blessed to serve. “It seems that the opportunities always present themselves. For the longest time, you wonder, ‘is this what I am supposed to do? Is this what God wants me to do?’ I am able to serve and am happy that the Lord is able to use me,” Galeana commented. “It’s not about rank or anything. The bottom line is that I am there to serve in the chaplain capacity and help the Soldiers with however they need to be helped.”  

Last drill, she did two services back to back with over 70 Soldiers.  As a part of the of the 141 Infantry Rear Detachment Unit, the unit isn’t full due to deployments.  Her biggest responsibility is getting the services together and making sure that the word gets out that the Soldiers have the opportunity to attend the services during drill weekend.  

Having a female chaplain is a first for Texas but not so for the country. While attending training at the National Guard Chaplain School at Fort Jackson in South Carolina, Chaplain Galeana was able to meet other female chaplains. “It was a 13 week course where I was able to meet and bond with female chaplains from all over the country,” Galeana said.  

Part of the goal for the Texas National Guard is to recruit chaplains of all faiths as well. “All of the chaplains there were from different faith backgrounds,” Galeana said. “As a chaplain, our job is to see that the Soldiers’ spiritual needs are met no matter what the denomination of the Soldier is. We make sure that all religions are accommodated.”  

Chaplain Benjie Bender oversees the chaplain recruiting in Texas as well as facilitates chaplain candidates in getting their packets put together. According to Chaplain Bender Galeana has just what it takes to be an excellent chaplain. “She is sensitive to the needs of Soldiers in the Texas Army National Guard and understands how important a Chaplain is to the unit, and that is what drives her motivation,” Bender said. “I am so grateful that she and her family were willing to answer the call to this much needed ministry.” 

Galeana credits Bender for helping her with the monumental task of gathering all the necessary paperwork for her packet. “I am very appreciative of Chaplain Bender who worked hard to help me put together my packet to be accepted into this program. Without his help and support, I couldn’t have done it,” Galeana added.  

For more information about the Texas Army National Guard Chaplain program, log on to http://www.txarng.com/chaplains

Or call 512.782.5674.

Leave a comment